Advisory Board

The editors draw from the vast experience of their advisory committee, which is composed of AGA past-president and past editor-in-chief of Gastroenterology Anil K. Rustgi, MD, AGAF, AGA past-president Mark Donowitz, MD, AGAF, AGA president and past editor-in-chief of Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Michael Camilleri, MD, AGAF, past editor-in-chief of Gastroenterology, Bishr Omary, PhD, MD, AASLD past-president James Boyer, MD, and accomplished investigator and Outstanding AGA Women in Science inductee Susan Henning, PhD, AGAF.

James L. Boyer, MD, AGAF, Ensign Professor of Medicine (Digestive Diseases), Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT

Dr. Boyer has a broad interest in all aspects of basic and clinical hepatology. His laboratory's major efforts have been the study of mechanisms of bile formation and cholestasis and are currently supported by a MERIT award from NIDDK. He is past president of both the American and the International Association for the Study of Liver Disease. Dr. Boyer has been recognized by Distinguished Achievement Awards from the AGA, AASLD and American Liver Foundation.

Michael Camilleri, MD, AGAF, Atherton & Winifred W. Bean Professor of Medicine, Pharmacology & Physiology, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, Rochester, MN

Through diverse methods (many of them developed in his lab at Mayo Clinic), Dr. Camilleri studies gastrointestinal diseases that arise within the gut itself, as well as diseases in which the gastrointestinal tract is secondarily affected by conditions such as diabetes mellitus, scleroderma and neurological diseases. This investigation involves multiple areas of focus, from genetics to the nerves, muscles, lining and content of the gastrointestinal tract. Dr. Camilleri is a past president of the AGA and the American Neurogastroenterology Society. He was the founding editor of Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology and a past editor of AGA Perspectives.

Mark Donowitz, MD, AGAF, LeBoff Professor of Medicine and Professor of Physiology, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD

Dr. Donowitz has had a distinguished career of scientific discovery, mentorship of young researchers and advocacy for the gastroenterology specialty. He is a past president of the AGA and has served as president of the Gastroenterology-Research Group. He has received the Distinguished Achievement Award from the AGA and the Davenport Distinguished Lectureship from the American Physiology Society, is an elected member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians, and is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. His scientific focus has been to understand regulation of intestinal Na absorption in normal digestive physiology and abnormalities that contribute to diarrheal diseases.

Susan J. Henning, PhD, AGAF, Professor of Medicine and Molecular & Cellular Physiology, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC

Dr. Henning’s lab has a longstanding interest in intestinal epithelial stem cells, with particular focus on their behavior during times of epithelial expansion (e.g. during development, after surgical resection, and after damage). With a view of human application, Dr. Henning’s lab has pioneered methods for isolation of intestinal stem cells from non-reporter (i.e. wild type) mice. She is the recipient of the AGA’s Distinguished Mentor Award. Her research contributions were recognized by the AGA in 2008 when she was selected as one of the first group of “Outstanding AGA Women in Science” and by the American Physiological Society in 2009 when she received the prestigious Davenport Award.

M. Bishr Omary, MD, PhD, AGAF, Executive Vice Dean for Research; H. Marvin Pollard Professor of Gastroenterology; Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology and Internal Medicine, University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor, MI

Dr. Omary’s work focuses on understanding the disease association, function and regulation of keratins and lamins in digestive organs. Two other major areas of research are defining biomarkers for acute and chronic liver and pancreatic diseases, and pursuing molecular understanding of porphyria pathogenesis and related therapeutic approaches. Dr. Omary is the incoming vice-president of the AGA and is a past editor-in-chief of Gastroenterology.

Anil K. Rustgi, MD, AGAF, Chief, Division of Gastroenterology, T. Grier Miller Professor of Medicine & Genetics; University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA

Dr. Rustgi has interdisciplinary, collaborative research programs in GI cancer biology and genetics with particular interests in stem cell biology/regenerative medicine, the microenvironment and metastasis. Dr. Rustgi has served as president of the AGA and editor-in-chief of Gastroenterology. He is the recipient of multiple awards from the AGA, including two Distinguished Mentor Awards, the Fiterman and Funderberg awards, and the prestigious Julius Friedenwald Medal, the highest honor the AGA can bestow upon a member. He is also an elected member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians.